My Cell Phone Has Tourette’s Syndrome

Here’s something a little strange.

Recently I looked up the word “debacle” in a phone app, because I wasn’t sure of the pronunciation. Is it stressed on the first syllable, like “DEBacle,” or on the second, like “deBACle”? My free app of choice is from thefreedictionary.com, and it offers an audio pronunciation of most words. So I had it play the word for me, and it is indeed “deBACle.”

But somehow my phone got the word “debacle” stuck in its odd little craw, and now whenever it plays any sound at all, it immediately follows it by saying the word “debacle.”

I could fix this by rebooting my phone, but I haven’t, because this is the kind of weirdness that one must savor.

Leave a Reply

